Acknowledgments and thanks


Grateful acknowledgment is made to the following authors and publishers for permission to quote from their work:

BAXTER Richard R., “Multilateral Treaties as Evidence of Customary International Law”, in The British Yearbook of International Law, 1965-66, Vol. 41, pp. 285-286.

CASSESE Antonio, Violence and Law in the Modern Age, Princeton, Princeton University Press, 1990, 223 pp.

D’AMATO Anthony, The Concept of Custom in International Law, Ithaca, Cornell University Press, 1971, 286 pp.

DAVID Éric, Principes de droit des conflits armés, Brussels, Bruylant, third edition, 2002, 994 pp.

HENKIN Louis, How Nations Behave: Law and Foreign Policy, New York, Columbia University Press, 1979, 400 pp.

HUBER Max, The Red Cross: Principles and Problems, Geneva, ICRC, 1941, 171 pp.

JENNINGS Robert Y., “What Is International Law and How Do We Tell It When We See It?”, in Annuaire suisse de droit international, 1981, Vol. 37, p. 67.

LAUTERPACHT Hersch, “The Problem of the Revision of the Law of War”, in The British Yearbook of International Law, Vol. 29, 1952-53, pp. 381-382.

LAUTERPACHT Hersch, “The Law of Peace”, in LAUTERPACHT Elihu (ed.), International Law, Collected Papers, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, Part 2, 1975.

McDOUGAL Myres S. & FELICIANO Florentino P., Law and Minimum World Public Order: The Legal Regulation of International Coercion, New Haven/ London, Yale University Press, 1961, p. 50.

ZAYAS Alfred M. (de), The Wehrmacht War Crimes Bureau, 1939-1945, University of Nebraska Press, 1989, 364 pp.

While great care has been taken to establish and acknowledge copyright and contact the copyright owners, the authors tender their apologies for any accidental infringement. They would be pleased to come to a suitable arrangement with the rightful owner in each case.


The ICRC and the authors would also like to thank the following colleagues, students and staff (by alphabetical order) for their invaluable support in setting up, testing, migrating and updating this platform:

Fekade Abebe

Anna Andersso

Vincent Bernard

Fikire Birhane

Julie Black

Alexandra Cahen

Anna Chiapello

Elöd Balazs

Boualem Belbashir

Mbokani Bisika Richard

Sophie Bobillier

Pierre-Alain Bosi

Myriam Bouguergour

Danielle Breitenbücher

Laurence Brunet-Baldwin

Valentina Caron

Gaétane Cornet

Javier Cueto Avellaneda

Margherita D'Ascanio

Maxime Delrieu

Julie Dumontier

Alexandre Duret

George Dvaladze

Elena Engelke

Roger Friguls

Sophie Gagné

Juliane Garcia Ravel

Joëlle Germanier

Kiransingh Ghoorbin

Sophie Gobert

Alexandra Hansen

Sabrina Henry

Heleen Hiemstra

Yvette Issar

Shalini Iyengar

Nils Kapferer

Kevin Karlen

Tadesse Kebebew

Elem Khairullin

Etienne Kuster

France Le Guern

Yannik Leguojeu

Sara Eve Levac

Nicole Martins-Maag

Frédérique Mariat

Anaïs Maroonian

Camille Marquis Bissonnette

Jérôme Massé

Damien Massi

Luca Motta

Yashasvi Nain

Matthieu Niederhauser

Nishat Nishat

Anne-Sophie Pansier

François Pernet

Elvina Pothelet

Juliette Praz

Gabriel Rey

Leila Rharade

Nicolas Rhoné

Sophie Rondeau

Giuliana Stephanie Saldarriaga Velásquez

Vincent Sautenet

Pia Marie Siebert

Laura Tribess

Chimdessa Tsega

Emily Velardi

Elisa Volpi Spagnolini

Ioanna Voudouri

Emilie Yakoubian

Adam Strobeyko

Madalena De Vasconcelos Costa Vieira Da Rosa

Pavle Kilibarda

Giulia Marcucci

Philippe Pakter

Daniela Valencia

Marishet Mohammed Hamza

David Wenk

Jana Ruwayha

Virginia Raffaeli